When I heard Gluten-Free Cheerios™ were coming out to the market, I rejoiced! Could the news be true? Yes! And a special thanks to Cheerios™ who is sponsoring this post to get you caught up to speed.
GLUTEN FREE CHEERIOS ARE HERE!
When the news about Gluten-Free Cheerios came out, my Facebook feed lit up. I have several friends who have Celiac Disease, not to mention all of my fellow sensory parents who have gone gluten-free with their kids.
You see, one of my friends had told me what she missed most about having to go gluten-free was Cheerios. Good old-fashioned Yellow Box Cheerios™. The original never goes out of style, right?
We all seem to know someone who has gone gluten-free nowadays. About 1% of the population has Celiac and as much as 30% of the population is avoiding gluten. Turns out it was important to General Mills to remove gluten from Cheerios so that my friends and fellow gluten-free families could enjoy Cheerios, too.
HOW DOES CHEERIOS MAKE THEIR CEREAL GLUTEN-FREE?
The way Cheerios ensures their cereal is gluten-free is pretty cool. (Am I allowed to geek out now?) An engineer who has been at General Mills for more than 50 years spent six years trying to figure out how to make Cheerios gluten-free after his daughter-in-law was diagnosed with Celiac disease. Mr. Zietlow feels like he could be your dad (or grandpa)… he’s just that kind of guy.
Although oats are naturally gluten-free, they often get mixed in with other grains such as wheat, rye and barley in the harvesting and transportation processes. Mr. Zietlow figured out how to remove those stray grains from the process to deliver a more pure version of Cheerios.
You can find Gluten-Free Cheerios by looking for the Gluten-Free seal on packaging. It is beginning to appear in stores now, but will be almost fully available in September. And the kicker – the price isn’t going to change!
Oh… and for those of you who have been missing Multi Grain Cheerios™, General Mills replaced the wheat and barley grains with sorghum and millet to make sure you can happily eat along with the rest of us.
HOW DO THEY TASTE?
Rather than tell my kids I was offering them Gluten-Free Cheerios, I just served them up a bowl and walked away. While my kiddos happily munched away, I asked if anything tasted different. They looked at me as is I had grown a second head.
My friend with Celiac (who literally did a happy dance when she heard the news) said it was like going back to a happy childhood memory of food. She’s beyond the moon that she can have her beloved Cheerios once again.
If Gluten-Free Cheerios can pass the mustard with these finicky kids and my friend, I’m sure your family is going to love them.
They come in five great flavors, including:
- Original Yellow Box
- Apple Cinnamon
- Multi Grain
- Honey Nut
TELL ME: Which Cheerios is your favorite. What is your favorite way to eat Cheerios?
Me? I’m just an old-school girl at heart. I can’t say no to that yellow Cheerios box along with a cut up banana. Add in soy milk, and I’m in heaven.
This is a sponsored post written by me on behalf of Gluten-Free Cheerios.